Industry up to date

Gluing: News about gentle joining in industry

pepperl07195Success Story

For the detection of adhesive spots in the packaging has Pepperl + Fuchs Sensors in the portfolio that reliably ensure a continuous packaging process. The Ultrasonic sensors Monitor stacking height independent of color, shape and surface - and maintenance-free. Learning the sensors is super easy.

Many packaging contains protective or stabilizing plastic parts that conform to the contour of the product. These include trays in candy boxes or presentation holders for cosmetics. These moldings are usually made by deep drawing. The film-like starting material is guided by rollers in the machine. At the end of a used roll, the beginning of the new roll is fixed by means of adhesive tape. This circumvents a complex re-threading. However, the connecting adhesive strip must not get into the thermoforming unit. It is not necessarily suitable as a material for the molding and would hinder the process by unwanted adhesion in the thermoforming.

pepperl07193The connection between the film rolls must be reliably detected. This also applies to splices within a roll, because these can be composed of several lots. These transitions are cut out before deep drawing.

A second task in the packaging process is often to monitor the supply of finished moldings at the feeder for packaging assembly. In both cases it is important to avoid any interruption of the process.

Two tasks - one sensor

Ultrasonic sensors are ideal for both tasks. They recognize the material of the roll goods and the finished molded parts regardless of their optical properties. Even the inevitable electrostatic charge of the plastic films is irrelevant to them.

The ultrasonic splice sensor UGB 18GM50-255 reliably detects the sticky area with a response time of only 600 μs based on its sound damping behavior deviating from the roll material. The stack height of the stock of finished molded parts is, for example, with the ultrasonic sensor UB400-F77-E2-V31 measured with millimeter accuracy. Other designs are also suitable for this application. The user can choose between continuous monitoring and setting a limit that triggers the refill.

Reflecting surfaces - no problem

pepperl07194The foils can be of any color or printed in multiple colors. Often they are transparent or have reflective surfaces. The moldings have irregular contours, often with recesses or steep recesses.

All of these influencing factors are irrelevant for ultrasound devices. The same sensor can be used for a wide range of materials, even with highly diversified shapes. In the case of ultrasound splice detectors, the very short reaction time of 600 μs enables rapid removal of the splice with the least possible material waste. The sensors allow a dynamic teach-in while the machine is running. The teach-in of the sensor can be done directly from the PLC via a digital output.

The splice sensor UGB-18GM50 has an extremely short response delay, is compact and detects objects 20 up to 60 mm distant. The reflection button UB400-F77, on the other hand, captures 25 to 400 mm distant objects and has a teach-in input. Both sensors are very compact.


Download Technology Guides Customer magazine Amplify This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

Further contributions from Pepperl + Fuchs

  • Logimat Hall 3, Booth B08 With the level sensor concept “Wilsen.sonic.level” from Pepperl + Fuchs, the level of liquids and bulk goods in containers, tanks or silos can be monitored remotely with the help of the Internet. The IoT sensor has an integrated ultrasonic measurement for measuring fill levels, fill and level. These measured values ​​are recorded at regular intervals and sent to the Internet together with the current geoposition. The autonomously working radio sensor is operated by battery and thus enables measurements in mobile containers.
  • User report Pepperl + Fuchs has developed a customer-specific 2D lidar sensor for a more flexible transport shuttle based on the specially developed Pulse Range Technology in close partnership with Montratec. This allows a distinction to be made between permanently installed track sections such as tunnels or curves. This was not possible before and not easy either, as this user report shows:
  • SPS Hall 7A, Stand 330 Pepperl + Fuchs is the first company to offer IO-Link Masters with an OPC UA interface, thus enabling the path to seamless, transparent and seamless communication from the lowest field level to the cloud.
  • SPS Hall 7A, Booth 330 The Pepperl + Fuchs brand Ecom presents the new generation of its intrinsically safe 4G / LTE Android smartphone series Smart-Ex. With a large 12,7 cm (5 ") display and powerful features, good ergonomics and an optimized accessory concept, the completely newly developed Smart-Ex 02 is the most advanced explosion-proof smartphone for Zone 1/21 and Div. 1.
  • FMB Hall 20, Stand B22 Pepperl + Fuchs is focusing on the expansion of the IO-Link portfolio: For applications with restricted installation conditions, the IO-Link Master of the ICE1 series will also be available in a housing that is only 30 mm narrow. Advantages such as multi-protocol, M12 power connector and web server functionality are still available to the user.
  • The new Digital Products and Services product line expands the portfolio and complements the mobile worker concept at the Pepperl + Fuchs brand Ecom. The digital products and services combine staging, mobile device management and device analytics.
  • Specialist articles There are different laws in the freezer zones than in environments under normal temperatures. The VB14N-T barcode scanner from Pepperl + Fuchs ensures optical identification at temperatures down to -35 ° C. It offers very good reading performance even with a low contrast of the bar code, can be put into operation quickly thanks to a quick warm-up phase and is energy-efficient and compact.
  • User report Pepperl + Fuchs has sensors in its portfolio for the detection of glue points in the packaging, with which a continuous packaging process can be reliably ensured. The ultrasonic sensors monitor the stack height regardless of color, shape and surface - and that maintenance-free. Teaching in the sensors is super easy.
  • Safe and fast communication via voice control and wrist: With the new Smart-Ex Watch 01, the Pepperl + Fuchs brand Ecom is adding a real hands-free application to its portfolio of communication solutions for mobile operators. The Smart-Ex Watch 01 is the first smartwatch for Ex areas in Zone 2/22 and Div. Second
load More halt SHIFT to load everything load all

Industrie Aktuell
News Portal für Konstruktion und Entwicklung

pepperl07195Anwenderbericht

Für die Detektion von Klebstellen in der Verpackung hat Pepperl+Fuchs Sensoren im Portfolio, mit denen sich ein kontinuierlicher Verpackungsprozess zuverlässig sicherstellen lässt. Die Ultraschallsensoren überwachen farb-, form- und oberflächenunabhängig die Stapelhöhe – und zwar wartungsfrei. Das Einlernen der Sensoren ist super einfach.

In vielen Verpackungen finden sich schützende oder stabilisierende Kunststoffteile, die sich der Kontur des Produkts anpassen. Dazu gehören etwa Trays in Pralinenschachteln oder Präsentationshalterungen für Kosmetikartikel. Diese Formteile werden in der Regel durch Tiefziehen hergestellt. Das folienartige Ausgangsmaterial wird von Rollen in die Maschine geführt. Am Ende einer verbrauchten Rolle wird der Anfang der neuen Rolle mittels Klebeband befestigt. So wird ein aufwendiges Neu-Einfädeln umgangen. Der verbindende Klebestreifen darf jedoch nicht in die Thermoformeinheit gelangen. Er eignet sich als Material für das Formteil nicht unbedingt und würde durch unerwünschte Anhaftungen in der Thermoform den Prozess behindern.

pepperl07193Die Verbindung zwischen den Folienrollen muss zuverlässig erkannt werden. Das gilt auch für Klebestellen innerhalb einer Rolle, denn diese kann aus mehreren Losen zusammengefügt sein. Diese Übergänge werden vor dem Tiefziehen herausgeschnitten.

Eine zweite Aufgabe im Verpackungsprozess besteht häufig darin, den Vorrat an fertigen Formteilen an der Zuführung zur Verpackungsmontage zu überwachen. In beiden Fällen geht es darum, möglichst jede Unterbrechung des Prozesses zu vermeiden.

Zwei Aufgaben – ein Sensor

Für beide Aufgaben eignen sich Ultraschallsensoren bestens. Sie erkennen das Material der Rollenware und der fertigen Formteile unabhängig von deren optischen Eigenschaften. Auch die unvermeidliche elektrostatische Aufladung der Kunststofffolien ist für sie ohne Belang.

Der Ultraschall-Klebestellensensor UGB-18GM50-255 erkennt die verklebte Stelle mit einer Reaktionszeit von nur 600 µs zuverlässig anhand ihres vom Rollenmaterial abweichenden Schalldämpfungsverhaltens. Die Stapelhöhe des Vorrats an fertigen Formteilen wird zum Beispiel mit dem Ultraschallsensor UB400-F77-E2-V31 millimetergenau gemessen. Auch andere Bauformen kommen für diese Anwendung in Betracht. Der Anwender kann wählen zwischen kontinuierlicher Überwachung und dem Einstellen eines Grenzwerts, der die Nach- füllung auslöst.

Spiegelnde Oberflächen – kein Problem

pepperl07194Die Folien können jede beliebige Farbe haben oder mehrfarbig bedruckt sein. Häufig sind sie transparent oder besitzen spiegelnde Oberflächen. Die Formteile haben unregelmäßige Konturen, oft mit Aussparungen oder steilen Vertiefungen.

All diese Einflussfaktoren spielen für Ultraschallgeräte keine Rolle. Derselbe Sensor kann für ein breites Materialspektrum verwendet werden – auch bei stark diversifizierten Formgebungen. Bei den Ultraschall-Klebestellendetektoren ermöglicht die sehr kurze Reaktionszeit von 600 µs die zügige Ausschleusung der Klebestelle mit geringstmöglichem Materialverschnitt. Die Sensoren erlauben ein dynamisches Teach-In bei laufender Maschine. Das Einlernen des Sensors kann direkt von der SPS über einen digitalen Ausgang erfolgen.

Der Klebestellensensor UGB-18GM50 hat eineen extrem kurzen Ansprechverzug, ist kompakt und erfässt 20 bis 60 mm entfernte Objekte. Der Reflexionstaster UB400-F77 hingegen erfasst 25 bis 400 mm entfernte Objekte und verfügt über einen Lerneingang. Beide Sensoren sind sehr kompakt.


Download Technologie Guides           Kundenmagazin Amplify         Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

 

Weitere Beiträge von Pepperl+Fuchs

  • Die Pepperl+Fuchs Marke Ecom gewinnt den Hazardex Award 2020 in der Kategorie PPTex Innovation (Personal Protection Technologies für explosionsgefährdete Bereiche). Die Auszeichung gilt besonders für die explosionsgeschützten Endgeräte und umfassenden Lösungen, die Ecom speziell für den Einsatz in rauen Umgebungen entwickelt. Mitarbeitern erhalten durch den Einsatz dieser Geräte höchste Sicherheit und Bedienkomfort.
  • Funktionale Sicherheit ist in der industriellen Automatisierung ein wichtiges Thema, dem sich die SIL Roadshow seit Jahren widmet. Ein Konsortium aus Experten der Unternehmen Ramsys, Pepperl+Fuchs, Samson, Hima, Endress+Hauser und der TÜV SÜD Industrie Service GmbH hat mit dem Functional Safety Workout 2020 ein neues Format aufgesetzt.    
  • Hannover Messe Halle 17, Stand D34 Auf Initiative von Trumpf stellen auf der Hannover Messe 2020 rund 60 Industrieunternehmen, daunter Pepperl+Fuchs,  den neuen Ortungstechnologie Standard „Omlox“ vor. Mittels dem neuen Standard lassen sich verschiedene Technologien zur Lokalisierung gemeinsam anbinden. Beispiele sind Ultrabreitband (UWB), RFID, 5G oder GPS. Die Unternehmen reagieren damit auf den zunehmenden Einsatz von Ortungslösungen in der industriellen Fertigung. 
  • Logimat Halle 3, Stand B08 Mit dem Füllstand Sensor Konzept „Wilsen.sonic.level“ von Pepperl+Fuchs lassen sich mit Hilfe des Internets die Füllstände von Flüssigkeiten und Schüttgütern in Containern, Tanks oder Silos aus der Ferne überwachen. Der IoT-Sensor hat eine integrierte Ultraschallmessung zur Messung von Füllhöhen, Füll- und Pegelständen. Diese Messwerte werden in regelmäßigen Zeitabständen erfasst und zusammen mit der aktuellen Geoposition ins Internet gefunkt. Der autonom arbeitende Funksensor wird per Batterie betrieben und ermöglicht somit die Messung in mobilen Behältern.   
  • Logimat Halle 3, Stand B08 Anwenderbericht Pepperl+Fuchs hat in enger partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit Montratec einen kundenspezifischen 2D Lidar Sensor für ein flexibleres Transportshuttle auf der Grundlage der eigens entwickelten Pulse Range Technology entwickelt. Diese gestattet es, zwischen fest verbauten Streckenteilen wie Tunneln oder Kurven zu unterscheiden. Das war vorher nicht möglich und auch nicht ganz einfach, wie dieser Anwenderbericht zeigt:
  • SPS Halle 7A, Stand 330 Pepperl+Fuchs kann als erstes Unternehmen IO-Link Master mit OPC UA-Schnittstelle anbieten und ermöglicht so den Weg zu einer durchgängigen, transparenten und lückenlosen Kommunikation von der untersten Feldebene bis in die Cloud.         
  • SPS Halle 7A, Stand 330 Die Pepperl+Fuchs Marke Ecom präsentiert die neue Generation seiner eigensicheren 4G/LTE-Android-Smartphone-Serie Smart-Ex. Mit einem großen 12,7 cm (5") Display und leistungsstarken Features, guter Ergonomie und einem optimierten Zubehörkonzept ist das komplett neu entwickelte Smart-Ex 02 das fortschrittlichste explosionsgeschützte Smartphone für die Zone 1/21 und Div. 1.
  • FMB Halle 20, Stand B22 Pepperl+Fuchs hat die Erweiterung des IO-Link Portfolios im Fokus: Für Anwendungen mit beengten Einbaubedingungen wird der IO-Link Master der ICE1 Serie künftig auch in einem lediglich 30 mm schmalen Gehäuse verfügbar sein. Vorteile wie Multiprotokoll, M12-Powerstecker und Webserver-Funktionalität stehen dem Anwender weiterhin zur Verfügung.
  • Die neue Produktsparte Digital Products and Services erweitert das Portfolio und ergänzt das Mobile-Worker-Konzept bei der Pepperl+Fuchs Marke Ecom. Die Digital Products and Services verbinden unter anderem Staging, Mobile-Device-Management und Device-Analytics.
mehr laden halte SHIFT um alles zu laden load all