Industrie Aktuell
News portal for construction and development

We present results of applied research for industrial applications from Fraunhofer institutes and companies' research departments - find out about the trends of the future!

Brand new from research

including from Fraunhofer Institutes, TU Munich, TU Vienna

  • It is an exciting new research area that is becoming increasingly important in the course of the mega trend of artificial intelligence (AI): So-called neuromorphic computing, also known as brain-like computing, uses technologies that mimic the human brain and nervous system. It could solve extensive associative learning problems. There is also the opportunity to significantly reduce the energy consumption of the currently silicon-based circuits. Fraunhofer EMFT is working on the EU project Neuronn, which started in 2020.
  • Artificial intelligence is predicted to have a major impact on society, culture and the economy. The use of AI in cities and urban environments, or Smart City for short, is a hotly debated topic. At the moment, the most explosive issue within this debate is Emotional Artificial Intelligence, i.e. AI with EQ. Minebea Mitsumi is concerned with the topic, because AI and Smart City are product and development branches here.
  • Driv and several research partners have received a mobility grant from the Marie Skłodowska-Curie measures of the European Union, which should flow into the development and testing of advanced wheel module concepts for autonomous vehicles. Driv, a Tenneco company, is part of the “Owheel” project with London-based technology company Arrival Ltd. Arrival, developer and manufacturer of generation 2.0 electric vehicles, as well as working with universities and industrial organizations.
  • Today heat pumps work almost exclusively on the basis of compressor technology. Compressors need harmful refrigerants. Against this background, six Fraunhofer institutes are developing highly efficient electrocaloric heat pumps in the Fraunhofer lead project “Elkawe” that do not use harmful refrigerants.
  • The Fraunhofer Institute for Organic Electronics, Electron Beam and Plasma Technology FEP has been involved in the development of processes and systems for cleaning, sterilization and surface modification for decades. As part of an internal funding project, the institute has dealt with a novel approach to the automated detection and inactivation of biofilms and has now presented the first results.
  • In combination with domestic granite or other hard stones, carbon fibers enable completely new construction materials and building materials. Theoretical calculations show that if the carbon fibers are made from algae oil, the production of innovative materials removes more carbon dioxide from the atmosphere than is released. A research project led by the Technical University of Munich (TUM) is now to advance these technologies.
  • Researchers at the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Regensburg and Sulzbach are working together with industry partners on a novel analysis method in the "Virosens" project to make the efficacy testing of vaccines more efficient and cost-effective. The method combines electrochemical sensors and biotechnology and for the first time enables a fully automated analysis of the infection status of test cells.
  • With the Hyperloop it would be possible to drive from Munich to Berlin in half an hour. Elon Musk presented the concept of a super-fast train that races through a tube system. In 2015 Musk started the "SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition". Students from all over the world have already competed against each other three times with their prototypes for the cabin capsule, the so-called "pod". The prototype of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) raced three times as the fastest. The...
  • Laser Hall B3, Booth 335 Research report Robots must be equipped with sensors and software for three-dimensional vision in order to gain a spatial understanding of their environment and to be able to precisely control objects. A team of researchers at Fraunhofer IPMS has been developing and manufacturing microscanner mirrors, known as MEMS scanners, for over 10 years, which are intended to enable robots to detect objects in the area, similar to human vision.
load More halt SHIFT to load everything load all

Industrie Aktuell
News Portal für Konstruktion und Entwicklung

Wir präsentieren Ergebnisse der Angewandten Forschung für industrielle Anwendungungen von Fraunhofer u. a. Instituten sowie aus den Forschungsabteilungen der Unternehmen – Informieren Sie sich über die Trends der Zukunft!

Brandneu aus der Forschung

u. a. von Fraunhofer Instituten, TU München, TU Wien 

  • Es ist ein spannender neuer Forschungsbereich, der im Zuge des Megatrends Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) zunehmend an Bedeutung gewinnt: Das so genannte Neuromorphe Computing, auch Brain like Computing setzt Technologien ein, die menschliches Gehirn und Nervensystem nachahmen. Damit könnte es umfassende assoziative Lernprobleme lösen. Zudem besteht die Chance, den Energieverbrauch der aktuell siliziumbasierten Schaltkreise deutlich zu senken. In dem 2020 gestarteten EU-Projekt Neuronn arbeitet das Fraunhofer EMFT.
  • Künstliche Intelligenz wird Prognosen zufolge eines großen Einflusses auf Gesellschaft, Kultur und Wirtschaft haben. Die Anwendung von KI in Städten und urbanen Umgebungen, kurz Smart City, ist ein stark diskutiertes Thema. Am brisantesten stellt sich derzeit innerhalb dieser Debatte die Emotionale Künstliche Intelligenz, also KI mit EQ dar. Minebea Mitsumi beschäftigt sich mit der Thematik, denn KI und Smart City sind hier Produkt- und Entwicklungszweige.
  • Driv und mehrere Forschungspartner haben ein Mobilitätsstipendium aus den Marie-Skłodowska-Curie-Maßnahmen der Europäischen Union erhalten, das in die Entwicklung und das Testen fortschrittlicher Radmodul-Konzepte für autonome Fahrzeuge fließen soll. Driv ein Unternehmen von Tenneco wird im Rahmen des Projektes „Owheel“ mit dem Londoner Technologieunternehmen Arrival Ltd. Arrival, Entwickler und Hersteller von Elektrofahrzeugen der Generation 2.0., sowie mit Universitäten und Industrieorganisationen zusammenarbeiten.
  • Wärmepumpen arbeiten heute nahezu ausschließlich auf Basis von Kompressor-Technologie. Kompressoren benötigen schädliche Kältemittel. Vor diesem Hintergrund entwickeln sechs Fraunhofer-Institute im Fraunhofer-Leitprojekt “Elkawe” hocheffiziente elektrokalorische Wärmepumpen, die ohne schädliche Kältemittel auskommen.
  • Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Organische Elektronik, Elektronenstrahl- und Plasmatechnik FEP beschäftigt sich seit Jahrzehnten mit der Entwicklung von Prozessen und Anlagen zur Reinigung, Sterilisation und Oberflächenmodifizierung. Das Institut hat sich im Rahmen eines internen Förderprojektes mit einem neuartigen Ansatz zur automatisierten Detektion und Inaktivierung von Biofilmen beschäftigt und nun erste Ergebnisse vorgestellt.
  • Im Verbund mit heimischem Granit oder anderen Hartgesteinen ermöglichen Carbonfasern völlig neue Konstruktionsmaterialien und Baustoffe. Theoretische Berechnungen zeigen: Werden die Carbonfasern aus Algenöl hergestellt, entzieht die Herstellung der innovativen Materialien der Atmosphäre mehr Kohlendioxid als dabei freigesetzt wird. Ein von der Technischen Universität München (TUM) angeführtes Forschungsprojekt soll diese Technologien nun weiter voranbringen.
  • Forschende der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Regensburg und Sulzbach arbeiten im Projekt „Virosens“ gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern an einem neuartigen Analyseverfahren, um die Wirksamkeitsprüfung von Impfstoffen effizienter und kostengünstiger zu machen. Die Methode kombiniert elektrochemische Sensorik und Biotechnologie und ermöglicht erstmals eine komplett automatisierte Analyse des Infektionszustands von Testzellen. 
  • Mit dem Hyperloop wäre es möglich, in einer halben Stunde von München nach Berlin zu fahren. Das Konzept eines Superschnellzugs, der durch ein Röhrensystem rast, stellte Elon Musk vor. 2015 startete Musk die „SpaceX Hyperloop Pod Competition“. Studierende aus der ganzen Welt traten bereits dreimal mit ihren Prototypen für die Kabinenkapsel, dem sog. „Pod“, gegeneinander an. Dreimal raste der Prototyp der Technischen Universität München (TUM) als schnellster ins Ziel. Das
  • Laser Halle B3, Stand 335 Forschungsbericht Roboter müssen mit Sensoren und Software für dreidimensionales Sehen ausgestattet sein, um ein räumliches Verständnis ihrer Umwelt zu gewinnen und Objekte präzise ansteuern zu können. Ein Forscherteam am Fraunhofer IPMS entwickelt und fertigt seit über 10 Jahren Mikroscannerspiegel, bekannt als MEMS-Scanner, die Roboter befähigen sollen, ähnlich dem menschlichen Sehen Objekte in der Umgebung zu erfassen.