Industrie Aktuell
News portal for construction and development

partially automated manual workplacescover story

The Martinshof, Workshop for people with disabilities, preferably works with Manual workstations, because they are perfect for integrating people with physical or cognitive disabilities into working life. The Japanese “Poka-Yoke” principle and the Guided Operator Solutions (guided manufacturing solutions) from Mitsubishi Electric ensure the high quality.

The Martinshof is a department of Workshop BremenWith 2200 jobs, it is one of the oldest and largest manufacturing facilities for workers with and without handicaps in Germany and at the same time one of the largest employers in the city. In addition to contract and contract manufacturing in the areas of metal and woodworking, electrical assembly, filling and packaging, Werkstatt Bremen employs 500 workers in the automotive business area alone and has been supplying a local automobile manufacturer for more than 30 years.

Handke Industrie-Technik, long-time supplier to the Bremen workshop for the furnishing of the manual workstation and premium solution partner of Mitsubishi Electric, recognized the special potential. Together with Mitsubishi Electric, they developed this poka-yoke solution in the area of ​​customized work. The Japanese Poka-Yoke principle is based on the systematic exclusion of human errors in the workplace. The prototype of the flawless manual workstation convinced the customer across the board and was adopted in production. Since May this year, a total of four identical zero-defect workplaces have been produced for the large batch sizes in automobile production.

User guidance excludes confusion

Manual workstationsIn three-shift operation, torsion bars (chassis components) are preassembled in large batch sizes at the assembly workstation, transferred to a buffer store and from there delivered just-in-sequence to the assembly line of the car manufacturer. In the assembly process, smaller stabilizers are screwed to the right and left of the torsion bar, which look very similar, but must never be interchanged.

“In the past, we always had to carry out a very complex manual final inspection by hand to avoid confusion. From the outset we now have the certainty that we are not delivering the wrong components and can save on the manual process step, ”says Miriam Berger, work preparation workshop in Bremen.

Structure and function of the manual workplaces

The new manual workstations each consist of a frame of aluminum profiles with a hydraulic height adjustment to adapt to ergonomic needs as well as lighting and workpiece holder. The torsion bars delivered in grid boxes are inserted into the receptacle, and their barcode is scanned with a WLAN-capable, intelligent torque wrench. The recording then locks.

The next step is to open a parts bin that contains the right side components. The physical barrier to the parts containers is realized by an intelligent flap door technology. At the same time, a illuminated pushbutton on the container calls for removal, which is acknowledged by pressing the button (pick-to-light). Then the removed part must be held in front of a camera to verify it again. In this way, labeling errors on the part of the supplier are excluded as well as assembly errors of the system. After approval by the camera, the component can be mounted.

This is followed by another test step by plugging into a sensor. Only with its OK, the screwing tool is released and allows the tightening of the connection to exactly 100 Nm. All individual steps must be completed and the torque must be properly tightened before the second container is released and the process for the left side can be repeated. After an error-free completion, the recording releases the finished workpiece so that it can be sequenced.

Integration of customer technology in the manual work stations

Manual workstations"The challenge of this project was to integrate the existing technology into the error-free process. But thanks to the interface configuration of our Poka-Yoke controller, this requirement was not a problem, "says Nils Knepper, Senior Product Manager for Modular PLC / Software at Mitsubishi Electric. The SPS built in a small control cabinet in place Series "Melsec iQ-F "is the intelligent, individually configurable and extensible center of the solution that organizes the removal and assembly sequences.

In addition to its own components, sensors and actuators from third-party suppliers can also be integrated. In the present case, in addition to the digital torque wrench, this is an industrial image processing system. The connection of a barcode printer is in progress; Thanks to existing common interfaces, this is easy to implement on the control side.

"When designing the user interface, you were very flexible and responded to our requests. Because many of our employees are not able to read well, we use smileys and other symbols, "says Miriam Berger. "In addition to process reliability, the Poka-Yoke workstations have the big advantage for us that, unlike in the past, we can use almost any employee for the job." In the background, the supporting visualization from the Poka-Yoke controller to the 10-inch Touch-screen terminal communicates.

The hardware and software from Handke and Mitsubishi Electric offer easy scalability, convenient configuration, programming and commissioning, as well as comprehensive connectivity options (including MES and ERP). After the freedom from defects and the technical potential has been achieved, Werkstatt Bremen is now examining whether the buffer store can be dispensed with in the future and pre-assembled directly in sequence for the automobile factory.

Large component selection for customization

Manual workstations"The need for error prevention exists in assembly and production everywhere. Important is the fast and flexible adaptability to the needs of the person working there and the requirements of the process ", comments Andreas Kebbel, Managing Director of Handke Industrie-Technik.

For this reason, Mitsubishi Electric and Handke offer their solution in the form of a modular system with a large selection of components and interfaces for user guidance. These include, among other things, mechanisms for the correct removal of parts such as light barriers, pick-to-light pushbuttons (alternatively: pick-to-voice), barcode scanners and proprietary pick-to-door mechanisms with lift switches. In addition, there are control mechanisms such as electric screwdrivers with torque and angle detection and vision systems, as well as possibilities for robot collaboration.

The individual production steps are represented by HMI devices GOT2000 series available from Mitsubishi Electric. They provide seamless connectivity to the poka-yoke controller and meet every need for illustration from text to icons, animations and augmented reality. As controller of the guided manufacturing solutions, a PLC of the latest control generations iQ-R or iQ-F is used depending on the requirements. The Guided Operator Solutions can be integrated into production control systems so that workplaces can be networked and resources can be controlled and monitored in real time.

"Workshop Bremen is a fully-fledged supplier in the economy, guaranteeing freedom from mistakes and meeting deadlines. The new jobs help us a lot, "says Miriam Berger. The positive experiences in Bremen got around quickly. Nationwide inquiries of integrative workshops are already available according to Andreas Kebbel.

The Poka-Yoke success story


development scout TV - Statement Fair This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

More news from Mitsubishi Electric

  • Cover story With a high degree of automation, Rodinger Kunststoff-Technik GmbH (RKT) ensures the required quality and efficiency in the production of various plastic parts for the automotive industry, electronics industry, communication technology and medical technology. The automation technology for the plastic injection molding machine comes from Mitsubishi Electric, including numerous 6-axis robots RV-2FR and the human-machine interface GOT2000.
  • With artificial intelligence (AI) you are also smart beforehand. Mitsubishi Electric is now using its own AI for predictive maintenance. By analyzing operating parameters recorded in real time, maintenance requirements are determined before they occur. This means that necessary measures can be planned in advance and reduced to a minimum. The automaker's AI technology is called maize. It can be easily implemented on the Melfa robot using the Melfa Smartplus add-on card.
  • User report There are still mechanical engineering companies that manufacture their required components exclusively in Germany and are also profitable. Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH manages this because it has implemented a high degree of automation in its production. In the manufacture of its add-on parts for forklifts, for example, the control of the CNC milling machines communicates directly with the handling robot from Mitsubishi Electric and does not require a master. Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH develops, produces and sells attachments for forklifts and is successful worldwide in this segment. These attachments can hold up to four Euro pallets side by side and two in a row. Can during operation...
  • Technical article Mitsubishi Electric presents its smallest and most powerful compact PLC so far. The Melsec FX5UC series has an extremely compact size. It helps mechanical engineering companies to place extended functionality in a minimal space. The programmable logic controller also offers web access and network connections for the latest smart factory applications.
  • Companies whose goal is to connect the operational technology (OT) of their production environment to their IT systems have a new option from Mitsubishi Electric: The edge computing solution "Melpic" - opens up optimization potential through preventive condition monitoring (predictive maintenance) ) or quality assurance with data evaluation in real time and immediate feedback to the operator.
  • The new "Melfa" articulated arm and "Scara" robots from the RV-FR and RH-FR series from Mitsubishi Electric are now supported by a force-torque sensor that can be integrated directly into the CR750 / 751 and CR800 robot controls. Because the Force Sensor does not need its own control, the processes are simplified considerably and engineering effort is saved.
  • SPS Hall 7, Stand 391 Mitsubishi Electric presents itself as "Your solution partner for smart manufacturing". At the booth, the company shows its latest range of automation products and technologies that give users a competitive advantage.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Europe BV has founded the "High Precision Positioning Systems" division based in the German branch in Ratingen. The new business area offers German and European customers key technologies to accelerate the introduction of centimeter-accurate autonomous driving and safe driving support.
  • EMO Hall 9, Stand D40 and Hall 13, Stand B92 Mitsubishi Electric shows how machine tools in networked production systems, with intelligent controls, edge computing and partner solutions increase productivity. The connection of robots to machine tools to increase speed and productivity is facilitated by plug-and-play integration.
  • Jan-Philipp Liersch has been Marketing Manager of the Industrial Automation division at Mitsubishi Electric Europe BV since July 1, 2019.He is now Head of Product Management and is therefore responsible for Mitsubishi Electric's automation products and solutions in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Benelux.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Corporation invests in Akribis Systems Pte Ltd, a Singapore-based manufacturer of linear motors and linear tables. With the integration of its servo systems and other industrial automation products into the Akribis product range, Mitsubishi Electric supports the increasing requirements for highly specific and high-precision production.
  • Technical article Mitsubishi Electrics Information Technology R&D Center in Japan has developed a new sensor technology that enables high-precision detection of vehicle parameters even in heavy fog or heavy rain. The technology is intended to enable the autonomous and assisted driving systems to function robustly even in harsh weather conditions, under which the detection accuracy of conventional sensors decreases.
load More halt SHIFT to load everything load all

Industrie Aktuell
News Portal für Konstruktion und Entwicklung

teilautomatisierte HandarbeitsplätzeTitelstory

Der Martinshof, Werkstatt für Menschen mit Behinderung, arbeitet bevorzugt mit Handarbeitsplätzen, da sie sich perfekt zur Integration von Menschen mit körperlichen oder kognitiven Einschränkungen ins Arbeitsleben eignen. Das japanische „Poka-Yoke“-Prinzip und die Guided Operator Solutions (geführte Fertigungslösungen) von Mitsubishi Electric sichern die hohe Qualität.

Der Martinshof ist eine Abteilung der Werkstatt Bremen, die mit 2200 Arbeitsplätzen eine der ältesten und größten Fertigung für Werker mit und ohne Handicap in Deutschland und zugleich einer der größten Arbeitgeber der Stadt ist. Neben Lohn- und Auftragsfertigung in den Bereichen Metall- und Holzbearbeitung, Elektromontage, Abfüllen und Verpacken beschäftigt Werkstatt Bremen 500 Werker allein im Geschäftsfeld Automotive und beliefert seit mehr als 30 Jahren unter anderem einen ortsansässigen Automobilhersteller.

Handke Industrie-Technik, langjähriger Lieferant der Werkstatt Bremen für die Einrichtung vom Handarbeitsplatz und Premium Solution Partner von Mitsubishi Electric, erkannte das besondere Potenzial. Gemeinsam mit Mitsubishi Electric entwickelten sie diese Poka-Yoke-Lösung im Bereich der angepassten Arbeit. Das japanische Poka-Yoke-Prinzip hat den systematischen Ausschluss menschlicher Fehler am Arbeitsplatz zur Grundlage. Der Prototyp vom fehlerfreien Handarbeitsplatz überzeugte den Kunden auf ganzer Linie und wurde in die Produktion übernommen. Seit Mai dieses Jahres wird an insgesamt vier baugleichen Null-Fehler-Arbeitsplätzen für die hoehn Losgrößen in der Automobilproduktion produziert.

Benutzerführung schließt Verwechselungen aus

HandarbeitsplätzeAm Montage Arbeitsplatz werden im Dreischichtbetrieb Drehstäbe (Fahrwerkskomponenten) in fünf Varianten, in hohen Losgrößen vormontiert, in ein Pufferlager überführt und von dort Just-in-Sequence an das Montageband des Autobauers geliefert. Im Montageprozess werden jeweils rechts und links am Drehstab kleinere Stabilisatoren verschraubt, die sehr ähnlich ausschauen, aber keinesfalls vertauscht werden dürfen.

„Früher mussten wir immer eine sehr aufwändige manuelle Endkontrolle in Handarbeit durchführen, um Vertauschung zu vermeiden. Jetzt haben wir von vornherein die Gewissheit, dass wir keine falschen Bauteile ausliefern und können den manuellen Prozessschritt einsparen“, sagt Miriam Berger, Arbeitsvorbereitung Werkstatt Bremen.

Aufbau und Funktion der Handarbeitsplätze

Die neuen Handarbeitsplätze bestehen jeweils aus einem Gestell aus Aluminiumprofilen mit einer hydraulischen Höhenverstellbarkeit zur Anpassung an ergonomische Bedürfnisse sowie einer Beleuchtung und Werkstückaufnahme. Die in Gitterboxen angelieferten Drehstäbe werden in die Aufnahme eingelegt, und ihr Barcode wird mit einem WLAN-fähigen, intelligenten Drehmomentschrauber abgescannt. Die Aufnahme verriegelt daraufhin.

Im nächsten Schritt öffnet sich ein Teilebehälter, der die Komponenten für die rechte Seite enthält. Die physische Barriere zu den Teilebehältern ist durch eine intelligente Klappentürentechnik realisiert. Zugleich fordert ein Leuchttaster am Behälter zur Entnahme auf, welche durch Betätigung des Tasters quittiert wird (Pick-to-Light). Anschließend muss das entnommene Teil vor eine Kamera gehalten werden, um es noch einmal zu verifizieren. Auf diese Weise werden Kennzeichnungsfehler seitens des Zulieferers ebenso ausgeschlossen wie Bestückungsfehler der Anlage. Nach Freigabe durch die Kamera kann das Bauteil montiert werden.

Es folgt ein weiterer Prüfschritt durch Einstecken in einen Sensor. Erst bei dessen OK wird das Schraubwerkzeug freigegeben und ermöglicht das Anziehen der Verbindung auf exakt 100 Nm. Alle Einzelschritte müssen vollzogen und das Drehmoment muss korrekt angezogen sein, bevor der zweite Behälter freigegeben wird und der Prozess für die linke Seite wiederholt werden kann. Nach fehlerfreiem Abschluss gibt die Aufnahme das fertige Werkstück frei, damit es in die Sequenzierung gebracht werden kann.

Einbindung kundenseitiger Technik in den Handarbeitsplätzen

Handarbeitsplätze„Die Herausforderung dieses Projekts bestand darin, die vorhandene Technik in den fehlerfreien Ablauf zu integrieren. Dank der Schnittstellenausstattung unseres Poka-Yoke-Controllers war diese Vorgabe aber kein Problem“, sagt Nils Knepper, Senior Product Manager Modular PLC/Software bei Mitsubishi Electric. Die in einem kleinen Schaltschrank am Platz verbaute SPS der Serie „Melsec iQ-F“ ist die intelligente, individuell konfigurierbare und erweiterbare Zentrale der Lösung, welche die Entnahme- und Montagesequenzen organisiert.

Neben den eigenen Komponenten können auch Sensorik und Aktorik von Fremdanbietern integriert werden. Im vorliegenden Fall ist dies, neben dem digitalen Drehmomentschlüssel, ein System zur industriellen Bildverarbeitung. Die Anbindung eines Barcode-Druckers ist in der Umsetzung; dank vorhandener gängiger Schnittstellen ist dies auf der Steuerungsseite gut zu realisieren.

„Bei der Gestaltung der Benutzeroberfläche war man sehr flexibel und ist auf unsere Wünsche eingegangen. Weil viele unsere Mitarbeiter nicht gut lesen können, benutzen wir hier Smileys und andere Symbole“, berichtet Miriam Berger. „Außer der Prozesssicherheit haben die Poka-Yoke-Arbeitsplätze für uns den großen Vorteil, dass wir im Gegensatz zu früher fast jeden Mitarbeiter für die Aufgabe einsetzen können.“ Im Hintergrund wird die unterstützende Visualisierung vom Poka-Yoke-Controller an das 10-Zoll-Touchscreen-Terminal kommuniziert.

Die Hard- und Software von Handke und Mitsubishi Electric bieten einfache Skalierbarkeit, komfortable Konfiguration, Programmierung und Inbetriebnahme sowie umfassende Anbindungsmöglichkeiten (einschließlich MES und ERP). Nachdem die Fehlerfreiheit gegeben und das technische Potenzial vorhanden ist, wird bei Werkstatt Bremen nun geprüft, ob in Zukunft auf das Pufferlager verzichtet und direkt in Sequenz für das Automobilwerk vormontiert werden kann.

Große Komponentenauswahl für Individualisierung

Handarbeitsplätze„Der Bedarf an Fehlervermeidung besteht in der Montage und Produktion überall. Wichtig ist die schnelle und flexible Anpassbarkeit an die Bedürfnisse der dort arbeitenden Person und die Anforderungen des Prozesses“, kommentiert Andreas Kebbel, Geschäftsführer bei Handke Industrie-Technik.

Aus diesem Grund bieten Mitsubishi Electric und Handke ihre Lösung in Form eines Systembaukastens mit einer großen Auswahl an Komponenten und Schnittstellen für die Benutzerführung an. Diese umfassen u. a. Mechanismen zur korrekten Teileentnahme wie Lichtschranken, Pick-to-Light-Drucktaster (alternativ: Pick-to-Voice), Barcode-Scanner und proprietäre Pick-to-Door-Mechanismen mit Hubschaltern. Zudem gibt es Kontrollmechanismen wie Elektroschrauber mit Drehmoment- und Winkelerkennung und Visionsysteme, sowie Möglichkeiten zur Roboter-Kollaboration.

Zur Darstellung der individuellen Produktionsschritte stehen Bediengeräte der GOT2000-Serie von Mitsubishi Electric zur Verfügung. Sie bieten nahtlose Konnektivität zum Poka-Yoke-Controller und erfüllen jeden Darstellungsbedarf von Text über Bildsymbole bis hin zu Animationen und Augmented Reality. Als Controller der geführten Fertigungslösungen kommt, je nach Anforderung, eine SPS der neuesten Steuerungsgenerationen iQ-R oder iQ-F zum Einsatz. Die Guided Operator Solutions lassen sich in Produktionsleitsysteme einbinden, sodass Arbeitsplätze vernetzt und Ressourcen in Echtzeit gesteuert und überwacht werden können.

„Werkstatt Bremen ist ein vollwertiger Zulieferer in der Wirtschaft, der Fehlerfreiheit garantieren und Termine einhalten muss. Dabei helfen uns die neuen Arbeitsplätze ganz enorm“, bestätigt Miriam Berger. Die positiven Erfahrungen in Bremen haben sich schnell herumgesprochen. Bundesweite Anfragen integrativer Werkstätten liegen laut Andreas Kebbel bereits vor.

Die Poka-Yoke Erfolgsgeschichte

 


 developmentscout TV – Messestatement          Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

 

Weitere News von Mitsubishi Electric

  • Anwenderbericht Es gibt sie noch die Maschinenbau Unternehmen, die ihre benötigten Komponenten ausschließlich in Deutschland fertigen und dabei auch profitabel sind. Die Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH schafft das, weil sie einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad in ihrer Fertigung umgesetzt hat. Bei der Herstellung seiner Anbauteile für Gabelstapler kommuniziert zum Beispiel die Steuerung der CNC-Fräs Maschinen direkt mit dem Handlingroboter von Mitsubishi Electric und kommt dabei ohne übergeordneten Master aus.
  • Fachartikel Mitsubishi Electric präsentiert seine bisher kleinste und leistungsfähigste Kompakt SPS. Die Melsec FX5UC Serie hat eine extrem kompakte Baugröße. Sie hilft Maschinenbau Unternehmen auf minimalen Raum eine erweiterte Funktionalität zu platzieren. Zudem bietet die Speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung einen Web Zugang und Netzwerk Anbindungen für die neuesten Smart Factory Anwendungen.
  • Unternehmen, deren Ziel die Anbindung der Operational Technology (OT) ihrer Produktionsumgebung an ihre IT-Systeme ist, steht nun eine neue Option von Mitsubishi Electric zur Verfügung: Die Edge-Computing-Lösung „Melpic"- erschließt Optimierungspotenziale durch präventive Zustandsüberwachung (Predictive Maintenance) oder Qualitätssicherung mit Datenauswertung in Echtzeit und umgehender Rückmeldung an den Bediener.
  • Die neuen „Melfa“ Knickarm- und „Scara“-Roboter der Serien RV-FR und RH-FR von Mitsubishi Electric werden jetzt durch einen Kraft-Momenten-Sensor unterstützt, der sich direkt in die Robotersteuerungen CR750/751 und CR800 integrieren lässt. Weil der Force Sensor ohne eigene Steuerung auskommt, werden die Abläufe wesentlich vereinfacht und Engineering-Aufwand eingespart.
  • SPS Halle 7, Stand 391 Mitsubishi Electric präsentiert sich als "Your solution partner for smart manufacturing". Auf dem Stand zeigt das Unternehmen seine neueste Palette an Automatisierungsprodukten und -technologien, die den Anwendern einen Wettbewerbsvorteil verschaffen.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V. hat den Geschäftsbereich „High Precision Positioning Systems“ mit Sitz in der deutschen Niederlassung in Ratingen gegründet. Der neue Geschäftsbereich bietet deutschen und europäischen Kunden Schlüsseltechnologien, um die Einführung von zentimetergenauem autonomen Fahren und sicherer Fahrunterstützung zu beschleunigen.
  • EMO Halle 9, Stand D40 und Halle 13, Stand B92 Mitsubishi Electric zeigt, wie Werkzeugmaschinen in vernetzten Produktionssystemen, mit intelligenten Steuerungen, Edge Computing und durch Partnerlösungen die Produktivität steigern. Die Anbindung von Robotern an Werkzeugmaschinen zur Geschwindigkeits- und Produktivitätssteigerung wird durch eine Plug-and-play-Integration erleichtert.
  • Seit 1. Juli 2019 ist Jan-Philipp Liersch Marketing Manager des Geschäftsbereiches Industrie Automation bei Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V. Er leitet ab sofort das Produktmanagement und zeichnet sich somit verantwortlich für die Automatisierungsprodukte und -lösungen von Mitsubishi Electric in den Ländern Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz und Benelux.   
  • Die Mitsubishi Electric Corporation investiert in Akribis Systems Pte Ltd, einem in Singapur ansässigen Hersteller von Linearmotoren und Lineartischen. Mit der Integration seiner Servosysteme und anderer Produkte der industriellen Automatisierung in die Produktpalette von Akribis unterstützt Mitsubishi Electric die steigenden Anforderungen an eine hochspezifische und hochpräzise Fertigung.
  • Fachartikel Mitsubishi Electrics Information Technology R&D Center in Japan hat eine neue Sensortechnologie entwickelt, die eine hochpräzise Erfassung von Fahrzeugperimetern auch bei dichtem Nebel oder starkem Regen ermöglicht. Die Technologie soll eine robuste Funktion von autonomen und assistierten Fahrsystemen auch bei rauen Witterungsbedingungen, unter denen die Erkennungsgenauigkeit konventioneller Sensoren abnimmt, ermöglichen.
  • Fachartikel In Reutlingen hat ein Kompetenzverbund von Unternehmen der Region für Auszubildende und Schüler der Fachbereiche Metall, Elektro und IT eine Lehranlage realisiert, die wesentlichen Merkmale der Industrie 4.0 erlebbar macht. Bestandteile der Anlage sind zwei Industrieroboter von Mitsubishi Electric mit unterschiedlichen Kinematiken. Diese erfüllen durch kompakte Bauweise, einfache Programmierung und Offenheit der Schnittstellen die Anforderungen sowohl des Schulumfelds als auch der industriellen Vernetzung.
  • Fachartikel Die Mobilitätsbranche bewegt sich rasant auf die sogenannte Ära der „Smart Mobility“ zu, was grundsätzlich auch vernetztes und teilweise bis ganz autonomes Fahren bedeuten wird. Mitsubishi Electric entwickelt mehrschichtige Cyberabwehr-Technologie für vernetzte Autos im Zeitalter der sich dynamisch entwickelnden Smart Mobility.