Industry up to date

Applied research from institutes and universities

tum0719Combined with local granite or other hard rock, carbon fibers enable completely new construction materials and building materials. Theoretical calculations show that when the carbon fibers are made from algae oil, the production of the innovative materials deprives the atmosphere of more carbon dioxide than is released. One of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) The research project mentioned is intended to further advance these technologies.

Manufacturing processes that consume more carbon dioxide than they release themselves are categorized by the latest World Climate Report (IPCC Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5 ┬░ C) as an important option to tackle climate change. The aim of the recently launched project entitled "Green Carbon" is to develop algae-based manufacturing processes for polymers and carbon fiber-based lightweight construction materials that can be used, for example, in the aviation and automotive industries.

The development of the various processes of technological, economic and sustainability analyzes is accompanied. The research work of the TU Munich promotes the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) with approximately 6,5 million.

Due to their rapid growth, microalgae, as cultivated in the globally unique algae technology on the Ludwig B├Âlkow campus of the Technical University of Munich, can produce the greenhouse gas CO2 actively store in the form of biomass. CO2 is bound in the form of sugars and algae oil. From these, starting materials for various industrial processes can be obtained with chemical and biotechnological processes.

Oil-producing yeasts, for example, produce yeast oil from algae sugars, a source of sustainable plastics. In addition, the yeast oil can be enzymatically split into glycerol and free fatty acids. The free fatty acids are the starting material for other products, including high-quality additives for lubricants; The glycerine can be converted into carbon fibers.

In the further course of the project, the plastics are combined with the carbon fibers to form corresponding composite materials. "The carbon fibers produced from algae are absolutely identical to the fibers currently used in industry," says Project Manager Thomas Br├╝ck, Professor of Synthetic Biotechnology at the Technical University of Munich. "They can therefore be used for all standard processes in aircraft and automotive engineering."

In addition, carbon fiber and hard stone can be used to produce novel construction materials using a process developed by the industrial partner Technocarbon Technologies. Not only do you have a negative CO2Balance, but are lighter than aluminum and more stable than steel.


Another contribution of the manufacturer This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

This website is presented by:

Industrie aktuell

Angewandte Forschung aus Instituten und Universitäten

tum0719Im Verbund mit heimischem Granit oder anderen Hartgesteinen ermöglichen Carbonfasern völlig neue Konstruktionsmaterialien und Baustoffe. Theoretische Berechnungen zeigen: Werden die Carbonfasern aus Algenöl hergestellt, entzieht die Herstellung der innovativen Materialien der Atmosphäre mehr Kohlendioxid als dabei freigesetzt wird. Ein von der Technischen Universität München (TUM) angeführtes Forschungsprojekt soll diese Technologien nun weiter voranbringen.

Herstellungsverfahren, die mehr Kohlendioxid verbrauchen als sie selbst freisetzen, stuft der aktuellste Weltklimareport (IPCC Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5 °C) als wichtige Option ein, den Klimawandel doch noch in den Griff zu bekommen. Ziel des kürzlich gestarteten Projekts mit dem Titel „Green Carbon“ ist es, auf Algenbasis Herstellungsverfahren für Polymere und carbonfaserbasierte Leichtbaumaterialien zu entwickeln, die beispielsweise in der Flug- und Automobilindustrie eingesetzt werden können.

Begleitet wird die Entwicklung der unterschiedlichen Prozesse von technologischen, ökonomischen und Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen. Die Forschungsarbeiten der TU München fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit rund 6,5 Mio. Euro.

Durch ihr schnelles Wachstum können Mikroalgen, wie sie im weltweit einzigartigen Algen-technikum auf dem Ludwig Bölkow Campus der TU München kultiviert werden, das Treibhausgas CO2 aktiv in Form von Biomasse speichern. CO2 wird u. a. in Form von Zuckern und Algenöl gebunden. Aus diesen können mit chemischen und biotechnologischen Prozessen Ausgangsstoffe für verschiedenste industrielle Prozesse gewonnen werden.

Ölbildende Hefen erzeugen beispielsweise aus den Algenzuckern Hefeöl, ein Ausgangsstoff für nachhaltige Kunststoffe. Außerdem lässt sich das Hefeöl enzymatisch in Glycerin und freie Fettsäuren spalten. Die freien Fettsäuren sind Ausgangsmaterial für weitere Produkte, unter anderem hochwertige Additive für Schmierstoffe; das Glycerin lässt sich in Carbonfasern umwandeln.

Im weiteren Verlauf des Projekts werden die Kunststoffe mit den Carbonfasern zu entsprechenden Verbundmaterialien zusammengeführt. „Die aus Algen hergestellten Carbonfasern sind absolut identisch mit den derzeit in der Industrie eingesetzten Fasern“, sagt Projektleiter Thomas Brück, Professor für Synthetische Biotechnologie an der TU München. „Sie können daher für alle Standardprozesse im Flugzeug- und Automobilbau genutzt werden.“

Darüber hinaus lassen sich aus Carbonfasern und Hartstein mit einem Verfahren des Industriepartners Technocarbon Technologies neuartige Konstruktionsmaterialien herstellen. Sie haben nicht nur eine negative CO2-Bilanz, sondern sind leichter als Aluminium und stabiler als Stahl.


 weiterer Beitrag des Herstellers          Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Diese Webseite wird Ihnen präsentiert von: