Industrie Aktuell
News portal for construction and development

SPStechnical articles

Mitsubishi Electric presents its smallest and most powerful compact so far SPS. Melsec FX5UC series has an extremely compact size. It helps mechanical engineering companies to place extended functionality in a minimal space. In addition, the Programmable logic controller Web access and network connections for the latest Smart Factory applications.

Mitsubishi Electric as the inventor of the compact PLC

With the PLC family FX, Mitsubishi Electric launched the world's first compact programmable logic controller as part of the Melsec F series over 35 years ago. Over the years, the FX portfolio of the pioneer of compact PLCs has expanded and today offers the latest solutions for countless applications and requirements in automation. The record number of around 19 million Melsec FX controls installed speaks for itself.

Mitsubishi Electric has now repositioned the Melsec FX5UC series (C = compact) as part of the highly functional Melsec iQ-F series. It was developed for the increasingly demanding communication and data processing tasks for automation in smart manufacturing. The ultra-compact programmable logic controller therefore has the same CPU performance as the premium model FX5U from the manufacturer. Only that it is as small as the Micro PLC FX3S.

The ultra-compact PLC has a large data memory and a memory for programming up to 128.000 steps. Thanks to the execution speed of 34 ns, the control allows an extremely fast machine reaction and increased productivity. In addition, the FX5UC PLC can take over functions such as motion control and positioning for up to eight synchronized axes. Dedicated controls and the associated maintenance and hardware costs are eliminated. This also applies to the programming time and space requirements of the devices.

Multi-tasking capable - the ultra-compact PLC is female

Additional integrated functions protect against data theft or manipulation of machines and systems. An example of this is the authentication of security keys, while users can securely access the system status on the Internet and interact with integrated functions such as data logging.

The smallest CPU module has 16 digital inputs and 16 relays or transistor outputs. It is only a quarter the size of a conventional compact PLC. Valuable machines, systems or production areas can thus be released and space-saving control cabinets can be used.

Scalable, flexible and open PLC

When developing the new Melsec FX5UC, the designers implemented a scalable and flexible solution for the programmable logic controller. This was designed for cost-sensitive, smaller applications and larger, networked multi-PLC systems. The network capability helps manufacturers to develop integrated automation, especially when using other Mitsubishi Electric products. The complete production system with a simple system architecture and transparent data management can be controlled in this way. In addition, the open interfaces of the programmable logic controllers and their interchangeability ensure a variety of network options.

Attention was paid to many small details when looking for a flexible and assembly-friendly PLC. Tension spring terminals accelerate the wiring and ensure reliable and vibration-proof connections. Since the modules can be unlocked and moved with their wiring, maintenance and system changes can also be carried out more quickly and easily.


This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

More news from Mitsubishi Electric

  • Cover story With a high degree of automation, Rodinger Kunststoff-Technik GmbH (RKT) ensures the required quality and efficiency in the production of various plastic parts for the automotive industry, electronics industry, communication technology and medical technology. The automation technology for the plastic injection molding machine comes from Mitsubishi Electric, including numerous 6-axis robots RV-2FR and the human-machine interface GOT2000.
  • With artificial intelligence (AI) you are also smart beforehand. Mitsubishi Electric is now using its own AI for predictive maintenance. By analyzing operating parameters recorded in real time, maintenance requirements are determined before they occur. This means that necessary measures can be planned in advance and reduced to a minimum. The automaker's AI technology is called maize. It can be easily implemented on the Melfa robot using the Melfa Smartplus add-on card.
  • User report There are still mechanical engineering companies that manufacture their required components exclusively in Germany and are also profitable. Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH manages this because it has implemented a high degree of automation in its production. In the manufacture of its add-on parts for forklifts, for example, the control of the CNC milling machines communicates directly with the handling robot from Mitsubishi Electric and does not require a master. Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH develops, produces and sells attachments for forklifts and is successful worldwide in this segment. These attachments can hold up to four Euro pallets side by side and two in a row. Can during operation...
  • Technical article Mitsubishi Electric presents its smallest and most powerful compact PLC so far. The Melsec FX5UC series has an extremely compact size. It helps mechanical engineering companies to place extended functionality in a minimal space. The programmable logic controller also offers web access and network connections for the latest smart factory applications.
  • Companies whose goal is to connect the operational technology (OT) of their production environment to their IT systems have a new option from Mitsubishi Electric: The edge computing solution "Melpic" - opens up optimization potential through preventive condition monitoring (predictive maintenance) ) or quality assurance with data evaluation in real time and immediate feedback to the operator.
  • The new "Melfa" articulated arm and "Scara" robots from the RV-FR and RH-FR series from Mitsubishi Electric are now supported by a force-torque sensor that can be integrated directly into the CR750 / 751 and CR800 robot controls. Because the Force Sensor does not need its own control, the processes are simplified considerably and engineering effort is saved.
  • SPS Hall 7, Stand 391 Mitsubishi Electric presents itself as "Your solution partner for smart manufacturing". At the booth, the company shows its latest range of automation products and technologies that give users a competitive advantage.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Europe BV has founded the "High Precision Positioning Systems" division based in the German branch in Ratingen. The new business area offers German and European customers key technologies to accelerate the introduction of centimeter-accurate autonomous driving and safe driving support.
  • EMO Hall 9, Stand D40 and Hall 13, Stand B92 Mitsubishi Electric shows how machine tools in networked production systems, with intelligent controls, edge computing and partner solutions increase productivity. The connection of robots to machine tools to increase speed and productivity is facilitated by plug-and-play integration.
  • Jan-Philipp Liersch has been Marketing Manager of the Industrial Automation division at Mitsubishi Electric Europe BV since July 1, 2019.He is now Head of Product Management and is therefore responsible for Mitsubishi Electric's automation products and solutions in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and Benelux.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Corporation invests in Akribis Systems Pte Ltd, a Singapore-based manufacturer of linear motors and linear tables. With the integration of its servo systems and other industrial automation products into the Akribis product range, Mitsubishi Electric supports the increasing requirements for highly specific and high-precision production.
  • Technical article Mitsubishi Electrics Information Technology R&D Center in Japan has developed a new sensor technology that enables high-precision detection of vehicle parameters even in heavy fog or heavy rain. The technology is intended to enable the autonomous and assisted driving systems to function robustly even in harsh weather conditions, under which the detection accuracy of conventional sensors decreases.
load More halt SHIFT to load everything load all

Gimatic
ex
Schmersal
Igus
Pepperl + Fuchs
Rollon
Mayr
Mitsubishi
Harting
NORD

Industrie Aktuell
News Portal für Konstruktion und Entwicklung

SPSFachartikel

Mitsubishi Electric präsentiert seine bisher kleinste und leistungsfähigste Kompakt SPS. Die Melsec FX5UC Serie hat eine extrem kompakte Baugröße. Sie hilft Maschinenbau Unternehmen auf minimalen Raum eine erweiterte Funktionalität zu platzieren. Zudem bietet die Speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung einen Web Zugang und Netzwerk Anbindungen für die neuesten Smart Factory Anwendungen.

Mitsubishi Electric als Erfinder der Kompakt SPS

Mit der SPS Familie FX hat Mitsubishi Electric vor über 35 Jahren die weltweit erste Kompakt Speicher Programmierbare Steuerung als Teil der Melsec F-Serie auf den Markt gebracht. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich das FX-Portfolio des Pioniers der kompakten SPS erweitert und bietet heute modernste Lösungen für unzählige Anwendungen und Anforderungen in der Automation. Die Rekordzahl von ca. 19 Millionen installierten Melsec FX-Steuerungen spricht für sich.

Mitsubishi Electric hat nun die Melsec FX5UC Serie (C = compact) als Teil der hoch funktionellen Melsec iQ-F-Serie neu positioniert. Sie wurde für die zunehmend anspruchsvollen Kommunikations- und Datenverarbeitungsaufgaben für die Automatisierung in der smarten Fertigung entwickelt. Die Ultrakompakt Speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung verfügt somit über die gleiche CPU-Leistung wie das Premium-Modell FX5U des Herstellers. Nur dass sie so klein ist wie die Micro SPS FX3S.

Die ultrakompakte SPS verfügt über einen großen Datenspeicher sowie einen Speicher zur Programmierung von bis zu 128.000 Schritten. Dank der Ausführungs-Geschwindigkeit von 34 ns gestattet die Steuerung eine extrem schnelle Reaktion der Maschine und erhöhte Produktivität. Darüber hinaus kann die FX5UC SPS Funktionen wie Motion Control und Positionierung für bis zu acht synchronisierten Achsen übernehmen. Dedizierte Steuerungen und die damit verbundenen Kosten für Wartung und Hardware entfallen. Das gilt auch für Programmierzeit und Platzbedarf der Geräte.

Multitaskingfähig – die Ultrakompakt SPS ist weiblich

Zusätzlich eingebundene Funktionen schützen vor Datendiebstahl oder Manipulation von Maschine und Anlagen. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Authentifizierung von Sicherheitsschlüsseln, während die Anwender im Internet sicher auf den Systemstatus zugreifen und mit integrierten Funktionen wie der Datenprotokollierung interagieren können.

Das kleinste CPU-Modul hat 16 digitale Eingängen und 16 Relais bzw. Transistor Ausgänge. Es nimmt nur ein Viertel der Größe einer herkömmlichen Kompakt SPS ein. Somit können wertvolle Maschinen, Anlagen oder Produktionsflächen freigegeben werden und platzsparende Schaltschränke zum Einsatz kommen.

Skalierbare, flexible und offene SPS

Die Konstrukteure haben bei der Entwicklung der neuen Melsec FX5UC eine skalierbare und flexible Lösung der speicherprogrammierbaren Steuerung realisiert. Diese wurde für kostensensible, kleinere Anwendungen und größere, vernetzte Multi-SPS Systeme konzipiert. Die Netzwerk Fähigkeit hilft Herstellern bei der Entwicklung integrierter Automatisierung, besondere beim Einsatz weiterer Produkte von Mitsubishi Electric. Die komplette Fertigungs Anlage mit einfacher Systemarchitektur und transparenter Datenverwaltung lässt sich so steuern. Außerdem gewährleisten die offenen Schnittstellen der Speicherprogrammierbaren Steuerungen und ihre Austauschfähigkeit eine Vielzahl von Netzwerk Optionen.

Auf viele kleine Details wurden bei der Suche nach einer flexiblen und Montage freundlichen SPS geachtet. Zugfederklemmen beschleunigen die Verdrahtung und gewährleisten zuverlässige und vibrationsfeste Verbindungen. Da die Module mit ihrer Verdrahtung entriegeltund verschoben werden können, lassen sich so auch Wartung und Systemwechsel schneller und einfacher durchführen.


Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

 

Weitere News von Mitsubishi Electric

  • Anwenderbericht Es gibt sie noch die Maschinenbau Unternehmen, die ihre benötigten Komponenten ausschließlich in Deutschland fertigen und dabei auch profitabel sind. Die Durwen Maschinenbau GmbH schafft das, weil sie einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad in ihrer Fertigung umgesetzt hat. Bei der Herstellung seiner Anbauteile für Gabelstapler kommuniziert zum Beispiel die Steuerung der CNC-Fräs Maschinen direkt mit dem Handlingroboter von Mitsubishi Electric und kommt dabei ohne übergeordneten Master aus.
  • Fachartikel Mitsubishi Electric präsentiert seine bisher kleinste und leistungsfähigste Kompakt SPS. Die Melsec FX5UC Serie hat eine extrem kompakte Baugröße. Sie hilft Maschinenbau Unternehmen auf minimalen Raum eine erweiterte Funktionalität zu platzieren. Zudem bietet die Speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung einen Web Zugang und Netzwerk Anbindungen für die neuesten Smart Factory Anwendungen.
  • Unternehmen, deren Ziel die Anbindung der Operational Technology (OT) ihrer Produktionsumgebung an ihre IT-Systeme ist, steht nun eine neue Option von Mitsubishi Electric zur Verfügung: Die Edge-Computing-Lösung „Melpic"- erschließt Optimierungspotenziale durch präventive Zustandsüberwachung (Predictive Maintenance) oder Qualitätssicherung mit Datenauswertung in Echtzeit und umgehender Rückmeldung an den Bediener.
  • Die neuen „Melfa“ Knickarm- und „Scara“-Roboter der Serien RV-FR und RH-FR von Mitsubishi Electric werden jetzt durch einen Kraft-Momenten-Sensor unterstützt, der sich direkt in die Robotersteuerungen CR750/751 und CR800 integrieren lässt. Weil der Force Sensor ohne eigene Steuerung auskommt, werden die Abläufe wesentlich vereinfacht und Engineering-Aufwand eingespart.
  • SPS Halle 7, Stand 391 Mitsubishi Electric präsentiert sich als "Your solution partner for smart manufacturing". Auf dem Stand zeigt das Unternehmen seine neueste Palette an Automatisierungsprodukten und -technologien, die den Anwendern einen Wettbewerbsvorteil verschaffen.
  • Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V. hat den Geschäftsbereich „High Precision Positioning Systems“ mit Sitz in der deutschen Niederlassung in Ratingen gegründet. Der neue Geschäftsbereich bietet deutschen und europäischen Kunden Schlüsseltechnologien, um die Einführung von zentimetergenauem autonomen Fahren und sicherer Fahrunterstützung zu beschleunigen.
  • EMO Halle 9, Stand D40 und Halle 13, Stand B92 Mitsubishi Electric zeigt, wie Werkzeugmaschinen in vernetzten Produktionssystemen, mit intelligenten Steuerungen, Edge Computing und durch Partnerlösungen die Produktivität steigern. Die Anbindung von Robotern an Werkzeugmaschinen zur Geschwindigkeits- und Produktivitätssteigerung wird durch eine Plug-and-play-Integration erleichtert.
  • Seit 1. Juli 2019 ist Jan-Philipp Liersch Marketing Manager des Geschäftsbereiches Industrie Automation bei Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V. Er leitet ab sofort das Produktmanagement und zeichnet sich somit verantwortlich für die Automatisierungsprodukte und -lösungen von Mitsubishi Electric in den Ländern Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz und Benelux.   
  • Die Mitsubishi Electric Corporation investiert in Akribis Systems Pte Ltd, einem in Singapur ansässigen Hersteller von Linearmotoren und Lineartischen. Mit der Integration seiner Servosysteme und anderer Produkte der industriellen Automatisierung in die Produktpalette von Akribis unterstützt Mitsubishi Electric die steigenden Anforderungen an eine hochspezifische und hochpräzise Fertigung.
  • Fachartikel Mitsubishi Electrics Information Technology R&D Center in Japan hat eine neue Sensortechnologie entwickelt, die eine hochpräzise Erfassung von Fahrzeugperimetern auch bei dichtem Nebel oder starkem Regen ermöglicht. Die Technologie soll eine robuste Funktion von autonomen und assistierten Fahrsystemen auch bei rauen Witterungsbedingungen, unter denen die Erkennungsgenauigkeit konventioneller Sensoren abnimmt, ermöglichen.
  • Fachartikel In Reutlingen hat ein Kompetenzverbund von Unternehmen der Region für Auszubildende und Schüler der Fachbereiche Metall, Elektro und IT eine Lehranlage realisiert, die wesentlichen Merkmale der Industrie 4.0 erlebbar macht. Bestandteile der Anlage sind zwei Industrieroboter von Mitsubishi Electric mit unterschiedlichen Kinematiken.
  • Mit einem erweiterten Betriebstemperaturbereich von -20° bis +65 °C und Schutzklassen bis IP67F/IP66F erfüllt das 7" Bediengerät GOT2507T-WTSD von Mitsubishi Electric die Anforderungen rauer und anspruchsvoller Anwendungen. Für Hochdruckreinigungen oder den Außeneinsatz sind keine zusätzlichen Schutzmaßnahmen erforderlich.
mehr laden halte SHIFT um alles zu laden load all