German Dutch English French italian japanese portuguese russian spanish
Logo 2014
  • Newsletter

    For receiving our news of the week, you can sign up here for ours Sign Up Newsletter

    Continue reading
  • Fair Special Automatica

    Here you can take another look at the novelties to the Automatica 2018 in Munich toss.

    Continue reading
  • Top ten

    Find all most read posts a month, a year of 2010 today

    Continue reading
  • configurators

    Online Product Finder and tools for calculating and designing of products for your design

    Continue reading
  • 1
Sunday, August 19, 2018
top ten
configurators
Subjects Icon Special Icon Measure Icon interview Icon Webcasts Icon
literature Icon News Icon career Icon Events Icon Newsletter Icon

News about the engine

Servo motor, DC motor, brushless motor, DC motor, torque motor, stepper motor

PMDM0318technical articles

If you believe the IDC analysts, the worldwide generated digital data volume should increase tenfold by the year 2025. We are talking about 160 Zettabyte, an unimaginable number with 21 zeros. The engine development center PM DM Minebea deals with HDD motors, the long-term storage medium par excellence, and gives a prognosis for the future.

Whether autonomous driving or intelligent personal assistants, machine-to-machine technologies or the IoT (Internet of Things), data form the nervous system of a digital world. While end users, particularly entertainment, have historically been the largest source of data generated globally, IDC (International Data Corporation) predicts a shift to business. As a result, you will generate up to 2025% of the global dataset in year 60. Today, this value is about 30%. The analysts agree that the big data era has long since started and the flood of data is approaching us. Technological progress will be crucial in understanding how to capture and fully exploit the complexity of this huge amount of data. At the same time, data storage will play a fundamental role.

SSD or HDD?

PMDM03181There are many ways to archive and retrieve data. In public comparisons, which medium is the safest and most suitable, whether SSD (Solid State Disc) or HDD (Hard Disk Drive), flash memory or USB, the cloud is indisputably in first place for long-term storage. Now, the cloud is not just some vapor-air mixture that floats above everything and absorbs data like a vacuum cleaner, but the cloud is a collection of servers at the heart of hard drives. Therefore, the comparison of hard drives with the cloud lags in the trade media a little.

Due to the price per Terabyte but also the average life of the memory of 10 years, SSDs are only partially suitable for long-term storage. The actual use of SSDs is the fast loading of data such as operating systems or other information, they ensure a fast data transfer. Obviously, the SSD has displaced the classic HDD for the end user in many computers and peripherals, which is only half the story. The supposed transfer does not take place in all areas. Larger amounts of data are finding their way to the cloud or NAS storage systems today, which is nothing more than a collection of hard drives. In the discussion about the technical progress is not about balancing the solid state memory compared to the usual hard disks, but what roles the two storage media in the future will be awarded. Each one has its own place.

Demands on the drive increase

The good old hard disk, tried and tested for decades, tirelessly in use, is an indispensable long-term storage medium. The few hard disk drive manufacturers and their components, including the hard disk motor developer PM DM, are constantly evolving. The demands on the drive, which are already at the limit of what is technically feasible, continue to rise.

A new recording technology will further increase the capacity of hard disks in the coming years. Microwave Assisted Magnetic Recording (MAMR) is expected to result in storage capacities of up to 40 TByte in a single 3,5 inch drive in seven to eight years. Also, the technology HAMR (Heat-Assisted Magnetic Recording), which is being researched, provides for an enormous storage space on hard disks. These disk types are primarily used as data storage for big data applications in servers rather than desktops.

Data technology future

Hard disk manufacturers are already investing huge sums for the future. The true value of the data is still massively underestimated today. The really exciting applications include data analysis, new business models, new ways of thinking, and new ecosystems in industries such as robotics and machine learning, and their potential for business and society. The analysts estimate that until 2025 just under 20% of data in the global data sphere will be critical for our everyday lives, just under 10% very critical. It is expected that every person in the world with Internet access interacts on average 4800 times per day with networked devices and systems. The proportion of global data undergoing data analysis increases by the factor 50 to 2025 on 5,2 Zettabyte. A quarter of the data will consist of mobile and real-time data. The largest share comes from the IoT. The opportunities offered by the value of data to businesses are vast and will keep economic decision makers worldwide busy for decades.

For the engine development center PM DM in Villingen-Schwenningen, hard drive motors will remain one of the core businesses. Sooner or later, motors that meet the demanding requirements of the hard disk industry inevitably conquer other areas of application in which drives with a long service life and high precision are in demand.


Another contribution of the manufacturer This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

Trade at a Glance

exhibition Calendar

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Next event dates

Tue Aug 2109: 00 Workshop Drive Technology Servo / Motion - BASIC Organizer: Mitsubishi Electric
Sun Feb 2209: 00 Workshop Drive Technology Servo / Motion - BASIC Organizer: Mitsubishi Electric
Sun Feb 2212: 00 Tec.nicum on tour 2018 - Lunch + Learn Seminars: Machine Safety, Standards and Guidelines Organizer: tec.nicum Academy Schmersal Group
Thu Aug 2309: 00 Workshop Drive Technology Frequency Converter - ADVANCED Organizer: Mitsubishi Electric
Thu Aug 2312: 00 Tec.nicum on tour 2018 - Lunch + Learn Seminars: Machine Safety, Standards and Guidelines Organizer: tec.nicum Academy Schmersal Group
@ Tue Sep 04 09: 00 Workshop Robotics 1 - BASIC Organizer: Mitsubishi Electric

Industrie aktuell

Vom Motor bis zum kompletten Antriebssystem

PMDM0318Fachartikel

Schenkt man den Analysten der IDC Glauben, soll sich die weltweit generierte digitale Datenmenge bis zum Jahr 2025 verzehnfachen. Die Rede ist von über 160 Zettabyte, eine unvorstellbare Zahl mit 21 Nullen. Das Motorenentwicklungszentrum PM DM Minebea beschäftigt sich mit Festplattenmotoren, dem Langspeichermedium schlechthin und gibt eine Prognose für die Zukunft ab.

Ob autonomes Fahren oder intelligente persönliche Assistenten, Machine to Machine-Technologien oder das IoT (Internet of Things), Daten bilden das Nervensystem einer digitalen Welt. Während bis dato die Endverbraucher, insbesondere aus dem Entertainment-Bereich, die größte Quelle der weltweit generierten Daten darstellten, prognostiziert das IDC (International Data Corporation) eine Verlagerung hin zu den Unternehmen. Sie werden demzufolge im Jahr 2025 bis zu 60 % der globalen Datenmenge erzeugen. Heute liegt dieser Wert bei etwa 30 %. Die Analysten sind sich einig, dass die Big-Data-Ära längst begonnen hat und die Datenflut auf uns zurollt. Der technische Fortschritt wird entscheidend dafür sein, wie die Komplexität dieser riesigen Datenmengen zu erfassen und vollständig zu nutzen sein wird. Dabei wird die Datenspeicherung eine grundlegende Rolle einnehmen.

SSD oder HDD?

PMDM03181Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, Daten zu archivieren und abrufbar zu machen. Bei den öffentlichen Gegenüberstellungen, welches Medium das sicherste und geeignetste ist, ob SSD (Solid State Disc) oder HDD (Hard Disc Drive), Flash-Speicher oder USB, steht die Cloud für eine Langzeitspeicherung unbestritten auf Rang eins. Nun ist die Cloud nicht irgendein Dampf-Luft-Gemisch, das über allem schwebt und Daten aufsaugt wie ein Staubsauger, sondern die Cloud ist eine Ansammlung von Servern, deren Herzstück Festplatten sind. Daher hinkt der Vergleich von Festplatten mit der Cloud in den Fachmedien ein wenig.

Aufgrund der Preise pro Terrabyte aber auch der durchschnittlichen Lebensdauer des Speichers von 10 Jahren, eignen sich SSDs nur bedingt für die Langzeitspeicherung. Der eigentliche Einsatz von SSDs ist das schnelle Laden von Daten wie Betriebssystemen oder anderen Informationen, sie sorgen für eine schnelle Datenübertragung. Offensichtlich hat die SSD für den Endverbraucher in vielen Computern und Peripheriegeräten die klassische HDD verdrängt, was aber nur die halbe Wahrheit ist. Die vermeintliche Ablöse findet nicht in allen Bereichen statt. Größere Mengen an Daten finden heute den Weg in die Cloud oder in NAS Speichersysteme, was nichts anderes ist als eine Ansammlung von Festplatten. In der Diskussion über den technischen Fortschritt geht es nicht darum, die Solid State Speicher gegenüber den gewöhnlichen Festplatten aufzuwiegen, sondern welche Rollen den beiden Speichermedien in der Zukunft zugesprochen werden. Jedes für sich hat seinen Platz.

Anforderungen an Antrieb steigen

Die gute alte Festplatte, jahrzehntelang erprobt, unermüdlich im Einsatz, ist als Langzeitspeichermedium nicht mehr wegzudenken. Die wenigen Hersteller von Festplatten und deren Komponenten, dazu zählt auch der Festplattenmotorentwickler PM DM, sind stetig in der Weiterentwicklung. Die Anforderungen an den Antrieb, die jetzt schon an der Grenze des technisch Machbaren liegen, steigen weiter an.

Eine neue Aufzeichnungstechnik soll in den kommenden Jahren die Kapazität von Festplatten weiter erhöhen. MAMR (Microwave Assisted Magnetic Recording) soll in sieben bis acht Jahren zu einer Speicherkapazität von bis zu 40 TByte in einem einzigen 3,5 Zoll-Laufwerk führen. Auch die Technik HAMR (Heat-Assisted Magnetic Recording), an der geforscht wird, sorgt für einen enormen Speicherplatz auf Festplatten. Diese Festplattentypen werden vor allem als Datenlager für Big-Data-Anwendungen in Servern positioniert und nicht in Desktop-PCs.

Datentechnische Zukunft

Die Hersteller von Festplatten investieren bereits enorme Summen für die Zukunft. Der wahre Wert der Daten wird heute noch massiv unterschätzt. Die wirklich spannenden Anwendungsmöglichkeiten liegen in der Datenanalyse, neuen Geschäftsmodellen, neuen Denkweisen und neuen Ökosystemen in Branchen wie Robotik und Machine-Learning und in ihrem Potenzial für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Die Analysten schätzt, dass bis 2025 knapp 20 % der Daten in der globalen Datensphäre kritisch für unseren Alltag sein werden, knapp 10 % sehr kritisch. Es wird erwartet, dass jeder Mensch auf der Welt mit Internetzugang im Schnitt 4800 Mal pro Tag mit vernetzten Geräten und Systemen interagiert. Der Anteil der globalen Daten, die einer Datenanalyse unterzogen werden, steigen um den Faktor 50 bis 2025 auf 5,2 Zettabyte an. Ein Viertel der Datenmenge wird aus Mobil- und Echtzeitdaten bestehen. Davon kommt der größte Anteil aus dem IoT. Die Chancen, die sich durch den Wert der Daten für Unternehmen auftun, sind gewaltig und werden Wirtschaftsentscheider weltweit auf Jahrzehnte beschäftigen.

Für das Motorenentwicklungszentrum PM DM in Villingen-Schwenningen werden Festplattenmotoren somit weiterhin eines der Kerngeschäfte bleiben. Motoren, die den hohen Anforderungen für die Festplattenindustrie gerecht werden, erobern über kurz oder lang zudem unweigerlich weitere Anwendungsbereiche, in denen Antriebe mit langer Lebensdauer und hoher Präzision gefragt sind.


weiterer Beitrag des Herstellers          Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

Diese Webseite wird Ihnen präsentiert von: