Industrie Aktuell
News portal for construction and development

igus11019FMB Hall 20, booth D2.2

Success Story

3022 km across the Australian desert and only with the power of the sun is the challenge of the World Solar Challenge. One of their participants is the team Sonnenwagen from Aachen. The students relied on the lightweight, wear-resistant and lubricant-free "Iglidur “plain bearingtechnology Made of durable tribo-polymers from Igus and drove successfully in sixth over the finish line.

For the route from Darwin to Adelaide, the participants have exactly one week time. The student teams from all over the world are developing different vehicle concepts for this purpose, thus demonstrating the colorful diversity of sustainable technologies. The Sonnenwagen team participated for the second time in the biennial competition.

"The bearings are immensely important because they hold the car together," says Kersten Heckmann from Team Sonnenwagen. "If a bearing fails, the repair is extremely time-consuming." In addition, the bearings used had to be wear-resistant and light. Because the lighter the sun car, the more efficient it can drive and can overcome a larger distance.

Sliding bearings everywhere you look

igus21019The lightweight iglidur bearing technology is found in countless places in the sun car. Self-adjusting "Igubal" clevises, for example, can be found in the telescope mechanism for the solar car cover and in the steering wheel iglidur J for use. The same material is found in the form of plain bearings in the suspension of the rear wheels and in the steering gear. The wear-resistant and lubricant-free endurance runner has a very low coefficient of friction on a variety of shaft materials, especially in dry running, and is vibration-damping. An advantage especially for the steering feel. In the hinges of the lid lock are also bearings of the material Iglidur G. The tribo-polymer is inexpensive and has a high wear resistance.

The lid of the solar car presented the team with a special challenge. The driver must be able to open and close the car independently when entering and exiting, these are the rules of the Challenge. A difficult task, because the lid is 5 m long, not one meter wide and heavy with the solar cells 25 kg. So far, the opening was jerky and power consuming. The problem lay in the heavy-duty printed bearings made of a standard plastic. Therefore, the team gave the short term 3D Print The bearings made of the high-performance plastic Iglidur I3 are commissioned by Igus. The laser sintering material is characterized by its low coefficient of friction and, like all other Iglidur materials, is resistant to dust and dirt and is ideally suited for the desert. Thanks to the use of printed stock, the driver now only needs a few seconds to get in and out.

University initiative yes

Projects such as the Sonnenwagen from Aachen are supported by the Motion Plastics specialist in the context of the young engineers support (yes). With the university initiative Igus wants to support pupils, students and lecturers with free samples and sponsoring as well as with the development of innovative projects.


This e-mail address is being protected from spambots To display JavaScript must be turned on!

More news from Igus

  • Hannover Messe Energy, leading safely and inexpensively on long paths was the goal when developing the Autoglide 5 energy chain from Igus. The new energy chain was specially designed for horizontal applications in intralogistics and on crane systems. The energy supply lies on a tensioned rope with the help of a special underside construction. Compared to energy supply chains in a channel system, the Autoglide 5 from Igus can save 88% in assembly time.
  • The goal of predictive maintenance is not only pursued by Igus with its intelligent smart plastics products for monitoring plain bearings, cables and energy chains. Manufacturers of machines and systems are also increasingly offering solutions with their own condition monitoring tools. Automation specialist Güdel also uses Ig.EC and EC.W sensors for its linear robots when it comes to predictive maintenance.
  • 'Personal care even when we can't be on site' is Igus' motto in the era of the corona virus. With its platform for digital advice, the Motion Plastics specialist makes virtual visits possible as an option. The reason: In the current situation, many companies restrict the visit of external companies. Affected users of the Igus products should still be able to clarify their questions personally.
  • FMB-Süd Stand E16 When it comes to wear-resistant tribo polymers, Igus users are spoiled for choice. The plastic specialist has now developed an offline configurator for its 3 Iglidur standard materials for small series or series production in injection molding, a prototype from a 39D printer or semi-finished products: The user can determine the right material with templates. An Iglidur expert system is also available for the selection and calculation of the service life.
  • Logimat Hall 3, Stand D21 When the technical sales consultants from Igus go to customers or trade fairs, they now have more than just product samples in their luggage. VR glasses show the virtual factory in Cologne. With the new app "Igus VR Engineer's Wonderland" you can guide customers all over the world through the Cologne 4.0 production. This way, the production and the in-house 3800 m² test laboratory can be experienced up close for those interested. The beta version of the app has already been successful in operation, the full version is now available in the Oculus Go Store.
  • FMB-Süd Stand E16 The Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) technology offers completely new opportunities to transfer the immense data streams reliably and quickly even in the smallest area of ​​the machine. Igus introduces the first SPE “Chainflex” cable for movement in the energy chain. The use of only one pair of wires reduces the outside diameter by 25%.
  • What happens when the maximum service life of a plastic energy or drag chain is reached? Mostly it is simply disposed of and incinerated with other plastic waste. With the "Igus green chainge recycling program", the Motion Plastics specialist is now going a completely new way: Users can send their plastic chains to Cologne for recycling - completely independently of the manufacturer.
  • SPS Hall 4, Stand 310; FMB-Süd Stand E16 Interview with Rainer Rössel Head of GB Chainflex Lines, Igus GmbH, Cologne
    download video
  • FMB Hall 20, Stand D2.2 User Report 3022 km across the Australian desert and only with the power of the sun, that is the challenge of the World Solar Challenge. One of their participants is the team Sonnenwagen from Aachen. When developing their solar car, the students relied on the light, wear-resistant and lubricant-free “Iglidur” plain bearing technology made from durable tribo-polymers from Igus and successfully crossed the finish line in sixth place.
load More halt SHIFT to load everything load all

Kipp-Werke
Tretter
Mitsubishi
Rollon
Mitsubishi
Mayr
ex
Rollon
Harting
NORD
Igus
Schmersal
Gimatic
Pepperl + Fuchs

Industrie Aktuell
News Portal für Konstruktion und Entwicklung

igus11019FMB Halle 20, Stand D2.2

Anwenderbericht

3022 km quer durch die australische Wüste und das nur mit der Kraft der Sonne, so lautet die Herausforderung der World Solar Challenge. Einer ihrer Teilnehmer ist das Team Sonnenwagen aus Aachen. Die Studenten setzten bei der Entwicklung ihres Solarautos auf die leichte, verschleißfeste und schmiermittelfreie „Iglidur“ Gleitlagertechnik aus langlebigen Tribo-Polymeren von Igus und fuhr erfolgreich als Sechster über die Ziellinie.

Für die Strecke von Darwin bis nach Adelaide haben die Teilnehmer genau eine Woche Zeit. Die studentischen Teams aus aller Welt entwickeln hierzu unterschiedliche Fahrzeugkonzepte und zeigen so die bunte Vielfalt nachhaltiger Technologien. Das Team Sonnenwagen nahm zum zweiten Mal bei dem zweijährlich stattfindenden Wettbewerb teil.

„Die Lagerstellen sind immens wichtig, denn sie halten den Wagen zusammen“, so Kersten Heckmann vom Team Sonnenwagen. „Fällt ein Lager aus, ist die Reparatur äußerst aufwendig.“ Zudem mussten die eingesetzten Lager verschleißfest und leicht sein. Denn je leichter der Sonnenwagen, desto effizienter lässt er sich antreiben und kann eine größere Strecke überwinden.

Gleitlager überall wohin man schaut

igus21019Die leichte iglidur Gleitlagertechnik findet sich an unzähligen Stellen im Sonnenwagen. In dem Teleskop-Mechanismus für den Solarautodeckel sowie im Lenkrad kommen zum Beispiel selbsteinstellende „Igubal“ Gabelköpfe aus Iglidur J zum Einsatz. Derselbe Werkstoff findet sich in Form von Gleitlagern in der Radaufhängung der Hinterräder und im Lenkgetriebe. Der verschleißfeste und schmiermittelfreie Dauerläufer besitzt einen sehr niedrigen Reibwert auf einer Vielzahl an Wellenwerkstoffen, insbesondere im Trockenlauf, und ist schwingungsdämpfend. Ein Vorteil vor allem für das Lenkgefühl. In den Scharnieren der Deckelverriegelung befinden sich außerdem Gleitlager aus dem Werkstoff Iglidur G. Das Tribo-Polymer ist kostengünstig und besitzt eine hohe Verschleißfestigkeit.

Der Deckel des Solarauto stellte das Team vor eine besondere Herausforderung. Die Fahrerin oder der Fahrer muss ihn beim Ein- und Aussteigen eigenständig öffnen und schließen können, so lauten die Regeln der Challenge. Eine schwierige Aufgabe, denn der Deckel ist 5 m lang, keinen Meter breit und mit den Solarzellen 25 kg schwer. Bisher war das Öffnen ruckelig und kraftaufwendig. Das Problem lag in den schwergängigen gedruckten Lagern aus einem Standard-Kunststoff. Daher gab das Team kurzfristig den 3D-Druck der Lager aus dem Hochleistungskunststoff Iglidur I3 bei Igus in Auftrag. Das Material für das Lasersintern-Verfahren zeichnet sich durch seine niedrigen Reibwerte aus, ist wie alle Iglidur Werkstoffe unempfindlich gegen Staub und Schmutz und optimal für die Wüste geeignet. Durch den Einsatz der gedruckten Lager benötigt der Fahrer nun lediglich wenige Sekunden zum Ein- und Aussteigen.

Hochschulinitiative yes

Projekte wie den Sonnenwagen aus Aachen fördert der Motion Plastics Spezialist im Rahmen des young engineers support (yes). Mit der Hochschulinitiative möchte Igus Schüler, Studenten und Dozenten mit kostenlosen Mustern und Sponsoring sowie bei der Entwicklung innovativer Projekte unterstützen.


Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!

 

Weitere News von Igus

  • FMB-Süd Stand E16 Geht es um verschleißfeste Tribo Polymere haben Anwender bei Igus die Qual der Wahl. Für die Kleinserie oder Serienfertigung im Spritzguss, einen Prototypen aus dem 3D Drucker oder Halbzeug hat der Kunststoff Spezialist jetzt einen Offline Konfigurator für seine 39 Iglidur Standard Werkstoffe entwickelt: Mit Schablonen kann der Anwender den passenden Werkstoff ermitteln. Ein Iglidur Expertensystem steht zudem bei der Auswahl und Berechnung der Lebensdauer zur Verfügung.
  • Logimat Halle 3, Stand D21 Wenn die technischen Verkaufsberater von Igus zu Kunden oder Messen fahren, haben sie jetzt nicht nur Produktmuster im Gepäck. Eine VR-Brille zeigt die virtuelle Fabrik der Kölner. Mit der neuen App „Igus VR-Engineer‘s Wonderland“ können sie Kunden in der ganzen Welt durch die Kölner 4.0 Fertigung führen. So wird die Produktion und das hauseigene 3800 m² große Testlabor für Interessenten hautnah erlebbar. Die Beta-Version der App konnte im Betrieb bereits Erfolge verzeichnen, jetzt ist die Vollversion im Oculus Go Store verfügbar.
  • FMB-Süd Stand E16 Die Single Pair Ethernet- (SPE) Technik bietet ganz neue Chancen die immensen Datenströme selbst im kleinsten Bereich der Maschine zuverlässig und schnell zu übertragen. Für die Bewegung in der Energiekette stellt Igus die erste SPE „Chainflex“-Leitung vor. Die Verwendung von nur einem Adernpaar reduziert den Außendurchmesser um 25 %.
  • Was passiert, wenn die maximale Lebensdauer einer Kunststoff-Energie- oder Schleppkette erreicht wird? Zumeist wird sie mit anderen Kunststoffabfällen einfach entsorgt und verbrannt. Mit dem „Igus green chainge recycling program“ geht der Motion Plastics Spezialist nun einen ganz neuen Weg: Anwender können ihre Kunststoff-Ketten nach Köln zum Recycling schicken – völlig unabhängig vom Hersteller.
     
  • SPS Halle 4, Stand 310FMB-Süd Stand E16 Interview mit Rainer Rössel Leiter GB Chainflex Leitungen, Igus GmbH, Köln
      Download Video 
  • FMB Halle 20, Stand D2.2 Anwenderbericht 3022 km quer durch die australische Wüste und das nur mit der Kraft der Sonne, so lautet die Herausforderung der World Solar Challenge. Einer ihrer Teilnehmer ist das Team Sonnenwagen aus Aachen. Die Studenten setzten bei der Entwicklung ihres Solarautos auf die leichte, verschleißfeste und schmiermittelfreie „Iglidur“ Gleitlagertechnik aus langlebigen Tribo-Polymeren von Igus und fuhr erfolgreich als Sechster über die Ziellinie.
  • Energieketten meistern oftmals ganz besondere Herausforderungen. Sie bewegen sich mit hohem Tempo, führen wildeste Torsionsbewegungen aus oder finden in den kleinsten Bauräumen Platz. Nach diesen Anwendungen sucht die Jury des 7. Vector Awards. Igus ruft Entwickler wieder auf, sich mit ihren mutigen und außergewöhnlichen Energieketten-Anwendungen zu bewerben.
  • Motek Halle 4, Stand 4320 Interview mit Christian Batz Prokurist, Digital, Igus GmbH, Köln Das Interview wurde am 10. Juli 2019 bei Igus in Köln gegeben.                                                                                                                            
      Download Video
  • Motek Halle 4, Stand 4320 40 Prozent Montagezeit sparen Anwender mit der neuen werkzeuglos zu öffnenden Energiekette „E4Q“ von Igus. Die Öffnungsstege lassen sich komplett ohne Werkzeug öffnen und schließen. Um das Gewicht der Energiekette weiter zu reduzieren, kommen bionisch inspirierte Formen zum Einsatz. Zudem sorgen optionale Dämpfungselemente für sehr leiseren Lauf.
mehr laden halte SHIFT um alles zu laden load all